THR Classic: Screenwriter confident readers won’t notice 9-point type

Behemoth World War II epic now a ‘breezy’ 118 pages

Josh Dernier had to pull out all the stops to get his script “Allied Forces” under the magic 120-page mark, but the Omaha-based screenwriter insists nobody will notice.

“The difference between 12-point type and 11-point type is imperceptible,” said Dernier. “So I shrunk it down another two points, reduced the margins to an eighth of an inch, and shipped that sucker out. Once people get engaged in the story, the script just flies by anyway.”

Despite Dernier’s confidence, WME reader Allan Frampton knew something was off the moment he started reading Forces.

“I thought there was a lot of black on the page, but I figured I’d give it a chance,” he said. “When it took me a half-hour to get through eight pages, I knew something was up.”

According to UTA assistant Bob Tunney, margins and small type weren’t the script’s only problems.

“In addition to sucking, the dialogue blocks were almost as wide as the action paragraphs,” said Tunney. “And I don’t want to sound paranoid, but I think some of the page numbers were doubled up. I swear I was on page five for like twenty minutes.”

When asked the original page count of the script, Dernier was vague.

“It wasn’t like 200 or anything,” he said. “But it wasn’t 150, either. I can’t wait to hear back from those reps I sent it to.”

** This THR Classic was first posted in February 2009 **

3 Comments

Filed under Industry News, Writers

3 responses to “THR Classic: Screenwriter confident readers won’t notice 9-point type

  1. whatthepork

    Congratulations, you are now a reputable source of Hollywood news: http://www.thefrisky.com/post/246-the-10-worst-bosses-in-hollywood/#When:14:00:54Z?eref=RSS

    (Scroll down to Ari Emanuel.)

  2. hollywoodroaster

    ha…we’re a regular deadline hollywood over here.

  3. Janet Jackson

    Still makes me laugh;)

Leave a Reply

