Agent would love to read script, but can’t

Interest in script overpowered by less clear factors

“I’d love to read your script,” an Endeavor agent told screenwriter Paul Boden at a party in the Hollywood hills last weekend. “I just can’t.”

When asked to clarify exactly what’s stopping her, the agent hedged.

“Oh, I know how to read. I just can’t accept any new material right now. I’d love to, but it’s simply not a possibility for the foreseeable future. I’m sure you understand.”

But Boden didn’t understand. A few hours later, he bumped into the Endeavor rep outside by the pool. The conversation eventually meandered back around to Boden’s script.

“So it’s about a teenage master thief whose father is a police detective?” asked the agent. “Wow, I like that so much I almost want to read it. But, as you know, I just can’t. Ooh, they have brie cheese.”

The agent then scooped a nice dollop of cheese onto a cracker and changed the subject to all the scripts she actually has read recently.

Comments Off on Agent would love to read script, but can’t

Filed under Agent Talk, Industry News, Writers

Comments are closed.