Cronenberg not willing to read Josh Olson’s fucking script

‘We do one movie together and the guy won’t leave me alone’ says director

Ever since he collaborated with screenwriter Josh Olson on ‘A History Of Violence,’ director David Cronenberg has been struggling to keep up with Olson’s numerous requests to read the latest draft of “whatever script he thinks is pure genius this week.”

“If I knew Josh was going to be this much trouble, I would’ve just written the damn movie myself,” said Cronenberg. “I mean, seriously, it was nearly five years ago and he’s still convinced I give a fuck about his third pass on some script that probably won’t get made anyway.”

Added Cronenberg: “Maybe he should join a screenwriting group or something.”

Olson, meanwhile, remains convinced Cronenberg would like his script if he just gave it a chance.

“A, it’s fucking perfect. So there’s that,” said Olson, before tossing a friend’s script in the trash, unread. “I’m not some unwashed newbie here. I’m kinda the shit. [Cronenberg] is probably just mad because I told him he’s a moron after he read one of my specs in 2007 and failed to compare it to ‘Chinatown,’ which it was far superior to, of course.”

13 Comments

Filed under Industry News, Writers

13 responses to “Cronenberg not willing to read Josh Olson’s fucking script

  1. Jargoner

    if only this were true…

  2. Lisa

    That’s fucking hilarious

  3. Well that just made my day. Bloody brilliant, this.

  4. Camden

    Love your blog. Give mine a look

    http://cineacraze.blogspot.com/

  5. RJ

    I really, really hope Camden has a good sense of irony…

  6. No–this is NOT true? I was so hoping after reading Olson’s creepy pile of flop. I spent 15 yrs writing s’plays, had one studio option (never maded it to TV), formed two screenwriting support groups, read lots of people’s work, good bad etc., and then bagged it. I met many people like Olson in that time. I don’t blame him for not wanting to read something–then don’t read it. But his self-importance was irritating.

  7. I’ll read his script, I guess. Why not?

  8. hehe, that’s very funny. We gotta get this link to Olson somehow? Although, to be fair, the dude probably googles his name every day and reads everything about him.

Leave a Reply

