Agent unsure if nervous writer was crying or sweating

Either way, rep having second thoughts

CAA agent Bob McElroy prefers to work with veteran writers, but after he read Tom Nettle’s hilarious action-comedy, he decided to give the 24-year-old scribe a chance.

“That was before I met him,” said McElroy. “Now I’m thinking, ‘Was that sweat on his face, or did he just get really scared and start crying?’”

According to McElroy, the meet-and-greet with Nettle wasn’t even a minute old before the literary agent noticed drops of liquid on Nettle’s cheeks.

“My first guess was sweat, but then I realized it was like 65 degrees in the office. On the other hand, I’ve made a lot of people cry in my life, and I don’t think I said anything remotely worthy of that response,” said McElroy. “Whatever. I can’t send an unstable psycho like that on meetings. This is why I like veteran writers.”

Nettle, however, thought the meeting went just fine.

“I was a little nervous at the beginning…it’s CAA, after all,” he said. “But after I got done crying, I think we really connected. I can’t wait to start pitching assignments!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Agent Talk, Industry News, Writers

Leave a Reply

