1,000th wannabe screenwriter decides to “break all the rules”

Script an unreadable mess

When Illinois native Fred Durnett vowed to write “an edgy script that wasn’t confined to the tired old three-act structure,” the 24-year-old barista had no idea he was setting a record as the 1,000th newbie to attempt the feat.

He also didn’t realize he was writing a shitty script.

“I’ve never been big on following the rules,” said Durnett. “Plus I’m special, so there’s that. I’m basically so talented that I can break all the usual screenwriting conventions without even knowing them.”

The resulting script, a raunchy comedy loosely based on all three of Durnett’s sexual exploits, features no act breaks, no turning points and minimal character arcs. It also employs extensive voiceovers and flashback sequences.

“What I tried to do with ‘SEX AND PIZZA’ was create a fluid, unpredictable story,” he said of the 134-page tome. “I can’t wait to see what the folks at ScriptPimp think!”

5 Comments

Filed under Industry News, Writers

5 responses to “1,000th wannabe screenwriter decides to “break all the rules”

  1. I think I read that script today… and all 999 that preceeded it.

    I’m presuming that the distinction is the 1,000th wannabe to do this this year, right?

  2. hollywoodroaster

    Heck, maybe even this month. Aren’t like 2 million scripts registered with the WGA every day?

  3. StuOz

    “I’m basically so talented I can break all the screenwriting conventions without even knowing them”…… is this serious? How do you know if you’re breaking conventions if you don’t know what those conventions are in the first place? Obviously someone would have to inform you afterwards that you broke conventions, therefore proving that the whole convention-breaking business is just lack of knowledge, not a result of this guy’s self-proclaimed talent. Funny Stuff.

  4. hollywoodroaster

    Stu,

    To your question of whether “this is serious,” I guess I’d have to say…no.

  5. This one never gets old, guys. Nice work.

Leave a comment